Engineering Innovation Award

Engineering Innovation. Let us put your name on it.

Apply now for the Siemens Engineering Innovation Award

The Siemens Engineering Innovation Award recognizes innovative thinking and problem solving in fire and life safety system design. It is open to all consulting specifying engineering firms in North America. Entries will feature an innovative project that incorporates the use of Siemens fire and life safety technologies to protect life, property and business mission.


Innovation can take many forms. It can range from new applications of existing technology, to cost-effective design solutions, to meeting unique building or construction requirements. The winning entry will demonstrate an innovative solution that solved a customer's difficult challenge or advanced the use of technology in this field. Show your customers and potential new clients your excellence in engineering innovation.

Entries accepted beginning April 4, 2022

The Siemens Engineering Innovation Award made its debut in 2014. The award is a replica of a traditional fire alarm pull box rendered in opulent crystal with the winning firm’s name engraved in a plaque on the front. The prestigious House of Waterford Crystal in Waterford City, Ireland has been commissioned to produce the award. It is sure to be worthy of a prized location at any CSE firm.


Calls for entry for the Annual Siemens Engineering Innovation Award are now being accepted. Announcement of the Engineering Innovation Award winner will take place in June, 2022 via social media announcements and through various communication channels. It will also be presented at our annual consultant reception during NFPA June 6, 2022 in Boston at the NFPA conference.

Entries accepted beginning April 4, 2022

The Engineering Innovation Award is open to all consulting-specifying engineering (CSE) firms in North America. CSE’s may nominate one project from their firm for this award. The project must meet the following requirements:

  • Nominated project must be at a building located in North America
  • Nominated project must have an approved submittal or be completed between January 1, 2021 and December 31, 2021
  • Nominated project must have utilized one or more of the following technologies from Siemens: Fire Alarm, Voice Evacuation, Mass Notification, Detection, Suppression


Entries may be submitted between April 4, 2022 at 12:01 am CDT - May 10, 2022 at 11:59 pm CDT.

All nominations will be evaluated by a panel of four independent industry experts. Nominations will be judged based upon:

  • 20% Future impact
  • 40% scale of the innovation
  • 20% presentation (write-up)
  • 20% Commercial product with good engineering principles

The independent panel will select one entry to receive the Engineering Innovation Award.

Entries accepted beginning April 4, 2022

The 2022 Engineering Innovation Award winner will be selected by our blue-ribbon panel of judges from across the fire and life safety industry.

Entry Form

Submit Your Entry

Entries accepted beginning April 4, 2022

Please help us provide anonymity for the judging panel by keeping your submissions as anonymous as possible. Please limit the use of logos, company names, references, etc. in your submission.


Please complete the form below to begin the process of entering your submission for the 2022 Siemens Engineering Innovation Award program. Once registered you will receive an automatic email reply to which you will need to:

  1. Reply to the email with your submission (a 1000-word summary of your project) in a PDF or WORD document format
  2. Upload any supporting documentation such as images, CAD drawings, etc.

Good luck and we look forward to your submission for this prestigious award!


Submit your entry below.